What is Writers’ Block?

What is writers’ block?

Writer’s block is a condition, primarily associated with writing as a profession, in which an author loses the ability to produce new work. The condition varies widely in intensity. It can be trivial, a temporary difficulty in dealing with the task at hand. At the other extreme, some “blocked” writers have been unable to work for years on end, and some have even abandoned their careers

Thanks wikipedia for your definition! I do hope I will not fall into the latter category :/

 

Some writers’ think that writers’ block does not or should not exist.  They believe that, once sat at the computer, one should just write… anything!  That no words are wasted..

I have battled with this theory, as I am loathe to write anything that is not, or that I do not feel is worthy of writing.

I must admit, having suffered for the last two days with, yes, writers’ block (!) I have felt a trifle panicked.  My story has sat halfway through chapter 3 at stalemate.  I have found myself procrastinating; stoking the fire, making coffee, feeding the cats (again), anything other than write.

Twitter has helped somewhat, although I read far too many tweets, I did manage to write a few in an attempt to promote my newest, non-fiction book in the colour series I am working on.  One might say that this accounts for ‘writing’, so the writers’ block is not present, but it is not getting my story moved on, which is frustrating!

Clearly, worrying about it is making matters much worse, so, now I am off to chop some wood, in the hope that I can mull the story over in my head, then, hopefully, after that, having achieved something (hehe), I will be able to come back and start again.

Or maybe I will mop the kitchen floor, stoke the fire, make some more coffee and perhaps (over)feed the cats again!

What do you do to combat writers’ block? All suggestions gratefully received :)

writers block

15 thoughts on “What is Writers’ Block?

  1. Ness,
    I don’t think I have ever had writers block so i can’t fully understand what you’re going through, however, perhaps going for a nice long walk in a place where you are not so familiar or just around the property where you live, taking in the sights and sounds, that might free your mind a bit: ) it’s worth a try, just bundle up and take a nice flask of something hot with you!! love and kisses
    from me who is across the sea thinking of you!
    Mrs V
    xxxxx

    • Hi V :) Thank you, I will try all of those things ! I did chop some wood and make coffee, which seemed to work this afternoon. Chapter Three is well on its way now hurrah!! Thank you for reading love u xxxxx

  2. I also take long walks but I listen to music while I walk. Since I live in Florida, I walk all year round. I have also found that different musical groups tend to give me bursts of writing inspiration, more than others. I don’t even think about the book I am writing. I just clear my mind and listen to the music and suddenly, I get ideas for the story I am working on. The worst thing you can do is stare at the computer screen waiting for inspiration. That never works. :-)

  3. Pingback: 6 Ways to Knock Your Block Off « Cheri Speak

  4. Pingback: writer’s block | shift

  5. Pingback: The Writers Wall of Doom | Naimeless

  6. Pingback: The Reader’s Block | Beyond Beauty Tips

  7. Pingback: Unblocking Writer’s Block « The Wryters' Block

  8. Thanks for reminding us of the inevitable (lol!!). Must say, a well connected and an interactive article.

    Writing is such a difficult task, especially when writing an academic article. I do face this condition of a writer’s block in and out. More often while writing things I’m not so interesting in
    E.g.: http://chaurahha.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/trial-by-media-justice-for-the-most-hated-woman-in-america/#comments

    So, what I do is the next time, write something that means a lot to me.
    E.g.: http://chaurahha.wordpress.com/2013/02/19/brazils-green-economy-a-strategy-for-sustainable-development/#comments

  9. Pingback: Article Marketing, Content Creation and the Terrible Myth of Writer’s Block | theprobookeditor

  10. Pingback: Reader's Block and family | Things To Rave About

Leave a Reply

